Oakeley, Sir Herbert (Stanley)

Yüklə 10.47 Mb.
ölçüsü10.47 Mb.
1   ...   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   ...   254

Odstrčil, Karel

(b Valašské Meziřící, 5 August 1930; d Prague, 21 May 1997). Czech composer. While studying at the University of Mining in Ostrava he took private lessons in the piano, conducting and composition as well as conducting the University Music Ensemble of Ostrava. He then taught at the Secondary Technical School in Příbram and continued his composition studies with Klement Slavický for several years (1957–63). The première of his orchestral work 451o Farenheita in 1964 led to him being recognized as one of the most significant Czech composers. His richly inventive music incorporates various avant-garde techniques while his experience as a technician deeply affected the development of his electro-acoustic works. He was a co-founder of the first Czech electro-acoustic studio in Plzeň; he also worked with the Via Lucis group based in Brno which attempted to visualize music using laser lights. From 1990 until his death he was president of the Society for Electro-Acoustic Music. He founded the international competition for the creation of electro-acoustic works, Musica Nova.


(selective list)

Stage: Antithese (ballet, 3 pts), 1966, concert perf., Prague, 1970; Devátá vlna [The Ninth Wave] (ballet, 1), 1966, Bratislava, Slovak National Theatre, 1967; Buratino (ballet, 4 scenes), 1967, Plzeň, J.K. Tyl Theatre, 1978; Tkáň [The Tissue] (op, R. Lukeš), 1975, Brno, Operú Studio JAMU, 1978; Království času [The Realm of Time] (children's op, D. Zeman), 1979; Toro (ballet), 1980, Liberec, F.X. Šalda Theatre, 1981; Poklad [Treasure] (stage qnt, after K.J. Erben), 1983; Svatební košile [The Spectre's Bride] (stage qnt, after Erben), 1983; Upír contra 007 [Vampire Versus 007] (ballet), 1984; Tarzanova smrt [Tarzan's Death] (op-ballet, Odstrčil, after J. Nesvadba), 1985; Hrabě Monte Christo [Count Monte Christo] (op, 2, J. Someš, after A. Dumas), 1989; Devět křížů [Nine Crosses] (op-ballet, Someš), 1990

Vocal: Výbuch [Explosion] (M. Holub), 4 choruses, 1961; Počátek světa [The Origin of the World] (Holub), 3 choruses, 1965; Moravské dřevoryty [Moravian Woodcuts] (M. Válek, trad.), 3 choruses, 1975; Lísteček z javora [Small Maple Leaf] (trad.), 3 choruses; pf, 1979; Picassova holubička [Picasso's Little Dove] (A. Jemelík), female chorus, male chorus, chorus, 1984; Hra na Robinsony [Robinson's Play] (Someš), scenic children's chorus, 1986

Orch: 451° Farenheita, sym. triptych, 1963; Pia Fraus, ballet sinfonietta, 1965; Femininum, sym. fresque, 1975; Podoba člověka [The Face of Man], 5 sym. pictures, 1980; Radegast, sym. triptych, 1984

Chbr and solo inst: Pf Sonata, 1962; Reflexy [Reflexes], fl, hp, 1964; Sonata montana, hp, fl, vn, va, vc, 1965; Pas de cinq, ww qnt, 1973; Pas de trois, 3 gui, 1974; Stříbrná kniha [The Silver Book], conc., trbn, chbr orch, 1975; Toccata per un'orecchio, org, 1976; Mír s hady [Peace with Snakes], brass qnt, 1977; Barokní masky [Baroque Masks], trbn, pf, synth, 1978; Ladění hromu [Thunder Tuning], perc, 1978; Grand prix, ob, vn, pf, tambourine, 1986; Zimní slunovrat [Winter Solstice], org, 1986

El-ac: Kabinet voskových figur [Cabinet of Waxen Figures], cycle of 10 pieces, 1967–89; Integrace [Integration], 1972; Hledání živé vody [Searching for the Water of Life], el-ac sonata, 1982; Průlet vesmírných částic [Passage of Cosmic Particles], synth, 1987; Future, sym., synth, 2 elec gui, amp insts, 1990; Vox humana (Z. Barborka), dialogue, male v, elecs, 1991; Noc v kabinetu voskových figur neboli Proces [A Night in the Cabinet of Waxen Figures or Process], 1994; Pět etap [Five Stages], trbn, tape, 1996

Principal publishers: ČHF, DILIA, Panton


L. Mareček: ‘Neklidný puls hudby’ [Restless pulse of music], Tribuna (15 Aug 1979)

O. Pukl: ‘Karel Odstrčil: čára ponoru’ [Odstrčil: load line], HRo, xlii (1989), 232–4

W. Dobrovská: ‘Překračování poznaných rozměrů’ [Exceeding familiar dimensions], HRo, xliii (1990), 445–7


O’Dwyer [Dwyer], Robert

(b Bristol, 27 Jan 1862; d Dublin, 6 Jan 1949). Irish conductor and composer. Born Robert Dwyer of Irish parentage in Bristol, he was a leading voice in the movement to establish a distinctive, nationalistic school of Irish composition. He began his career in 1891, first conducting the Carl Rosa Opera Company and later touring with the Rousbey Opera Company until 1896. He settled in Dublin in 1897 where he held various posts as organist, conductor, composer and teacher. As a critic, O’Dwyer contributed to the influential periodical The Leader, a publication that may have honed his strong nationalistic views. Sympathetic with the aims of the broad cultural movement known as the Gaelic revival, he found a further outlet for nationalistic expression with the creation of the Gaelic League’s Oireachtas Choir (1902). He subsequently became the choir director. The opera Eithne, his major work, was written for the annual Oireachtas festival in 1909. Thomas O’Kelly’s libretto was later translated into Irish, gaining the work particular attention as the first opera to employ an Irish text. Largely on the strength of the opera’s success, O’Dwyer was appointed chair of Irish music at University College, Dublin, a part-time post sponsored by Dublin Corporation. He held this appointment until his retirement in 1939.



A duophonic Synthesizer manufactured by ARP Instruments in Newton Highlands, near Boston (later in nearby Newton and Lexington), from 1971 until the company’s demise in 1981. See Electronic instruments, §IV, 5(ii).
1   ...   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   ...   254

Verilənlər bazası müəlliflik hüququ ilə müdafiə olunur ©azrefs.org 2016
rəhbərliyinə müraciət

    Ana səhifə